top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnne Anjao

Health is Wealth

Take care of your body. It's the only place you have to live. - Jim Rohn


Allow me to mourn my colleague and friend at UUM, Pastor John. He was a humble man of God. Jovial, supportive, well-organized, compassionate, assiduous. I could go on. I only knew him for six months, but he became a part of my community. I always knew I would find Pastor John sitting outside the library where he had nicely and judiciously carved out a place for himself. A place with shade, in the open, yet again secluded. Once in a while, when the library got too cold, or I got tired of dragging along heavy winter jackets in a tropical climate, I would slip into his place. Sometimes he would find me there, and we would laugh about it. Other times he would not show up, and I would have the place all to myself.


When I got the news that Pastor John was poorly, I failed to internalize how ill he was. Not until I met Emmanuel, who told me that Pastor John had been admitted to hospital in Alor Setah. While making arrangements to visit him in hospital, I learned that he had been discharged, so Emmanuel accompanied me to his residence. I remember it like yesterday. We had our usual jokes, our usual teasing, and after a joyful time, we left. I never knew it was the last time I would set my eyes on this humble servant of God. Long story short, Pastor John had accidentally stepped on a three-pin plug that was facing up, and a loose wire had torn off a little flesh. Being diabetic, the wound had refused to heal. The doctors now advised him to return to Nigeria. Within a month or so, news came from Nigeria that Pastor John had crossed over to the hereafter. Oh, the melancholy of it all was that he had submitted his final thesis and was about a month away from his final defense.


This brings me to the discourse on good health and the Ph.D. Those two must co-exist. In the case of the late Pastor John, what cut short his life and studies was accidental. He had taken pretty good care of himself, but fate had other ideas. However, as students, we tend to sit down for long hours. Before we know it, we are leading sedentary lifestyles. One word that should ring in our minds is balance. Balance. Balance. It may get murky health-wise when racing towards the finish line; so many corrections to make; new perspectives to be included; and the desire to just finish and be done.


I realize I require a strategy. How can I put in so much while still remain healthy? Strategy number one is spiritual nourishment. I must have the Savior with me, for I dare not walk alone. I must feel His presence near me and His arms around me thrown. So, don't be surprised to see me with headphones while in the library. There is 'Oceans' 'Song of Ascent' 'As you find me' ' As it is' 'Umetukuka’ ‘Made a Way’ ‘So will I’ ‘New Wine’ ‘You waited’ ‘Nara’ ‘Huyu Yesu’ ‘Wewe ni Mungu’ ‘Onise Iyanu,’ and so on, whose lyrics permeate my entire being. Music has a calming effect, and I feel like I am walking on the clouds even as I interrogate the work of other scholars.


Strategy number two is food. I usually buy my stuff on Friday evenings just before church, besides the Pasar Malam shopping. I will spend several hours on Saturday cooking my meats and storing them in the fridge. I then fetch fresh vegetables from the campus mall almost daily to make with my ugali (somehow, the rice here is too milky; I fear adding weight). The walk to the mall is deliberate to draw me out. I drink a lot of water for a compelling walk to the bathroom every 30 minutes or so. I also eat plenty of fruits, raw vegetables, and nuts (plus their cousins).


Strategy number three is plenty of physical activity. I go to the library from 10.am and ensure I take breaks between walking up to the academia lounge or restaurant for lunch. At 4 pm, I will team up with friends who are available and walk all the way to our well-equipped Sports Centre. Sometimes we play table tennis. Other times we pleasure ourselves with go-karting. I steer clear of bicycles and tricycles since I never developed that skill as a child. I attempt to run 1200 metres in our Olympic-size stadium many a time but get so hopelessly tired I half-walk, half-run. Thereafter, we do exercises. The beauty of UUM is the presence of exercise machines all over campus, including right next to the hostels.


Strategy four is to guard my mental health. My primary activity every day is to think and build my thesis. Hence, my need for a break from thinking. I love music. So much. So, when I have the opportunity to get away from thinking, I play loud music (of course, while minding my neighbors). I deliberately refuse to wash my clothes using the washing machine. Instead, I wash them by hand to exercise my limbs while playing loud music and singing along. I resume studies from 7 pm-10 pm before turning to my laptop to watch all sorts of series. In between, I call and receive calls from home. I also enjoy the company of my colleagues where we can just talk, go hiking, cook together, eat out, and so on.


My fifth strategy is to deliberately keep myself busy so that there will be competition for my time. So, I join the International Students Society (ISS), where I get busy organizing workshops for post-graduate students. Away from academics, the ISS also brings us together to celebrate our cultures on cultural nights. I am busy in my church and take part in all activities as much as possible. When my school advertises for a mobility program to Indonesia, I apply. Before long, I hop onto Air Asia to enjoy the time of my life (this trip warrants another write-up). I also quickly join the group going to Cambodia for a teaching program.


My last strategy is to take trips alone outside the campus. I just pack and take the 8-hour bus journey to Kuala Lumpur. One time I do this, I discover one can stay in a shared hotel room. Yes, shared. I meet three beautiful roommates (females) from Indonesia, Thailand, and Singapore. We become friends instantly and start exploring KL together!

187 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page