top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnne Anjao

Our Community

"The greatness of a community is most accurately measured by the compassionate actions of

its members." Coretta Scott King


If you have stayed with me this long, then you do know about my friend Khadija from Jordan. My first encounter with her reassures me of UUM’s sense of community. When new to a place, the people around you are your life support. I am aware that as a doctoral student, I must cultivate a sense of community. There is only so much I can read, especially as a full-time student. Having survived the peculiar lizard’s cry in the night, I must arise and face a pleasant community.


The exciting part about my university is the sheer diversity in the nationalities represented. UUM is the melting pot of global cultures with the majority being Asian. And so, away from my proposal, I am seriously mingling in the community. Of course, my first community comprises my neighbors in our hostel. One event that sticks out is when I am invited to a little activity in the square. Wow, we are dancing to our cultural beats! I am requested to play one number from YouTube and dance to it! Goodness, how does one dance to gospel music at the square? I wrack my brain and decide Sauti Sol might do, being a serious Kenyan group with international appeal. My next challenge- how in the world does one dance to ‘Sura Yako?’ I reminisce about Obama's sluggish attempts to dance to this classic number while in Nairobi. So, I beg for a few minutes, disappear into my room, hopelessly try to copy the moves, and emerge to implement them. As I do my jig while the rest cheer, I can’t help but notice Sunita falling in line to model my poorly coordinated dance.


I believe food is a defining feature of Asian culture. I mean defining. These guys deliberately plan for their meals which they cook with skillfulness and legerdemain. Malaysia is a sugar nation. Almost every meal is sweetened, such as in rice, chicken, fish, bread, etc. There is this fresh lemon drink I like ordering at Subaidah. The first time I am introduced to the drink, I find it so saccharine that I am unable to go beyond the initial sip. I note that half of that drink is liquid sugar! However, I learn that a drop of sugar and more lemon water will do. So, we usually meet in the common kitchen where we learn a thing or two about one another’s food culture. Of course, many wonder what it is that I like making almost daily: ugali (cornflour and water mixed into a hard paste/lump). Today, I am with Shola from Nigeria, who is showing me how to make noodles and some type of snack. Quite an elaborate process but I do enjoy the meal immensely.


Church! Yes, church in a predominantly Muslim country. It’s the first thing I inquire from Mark. He tells me he only knows of three churches that conduct services in English. One is Catholic which I rule out because I am not Catholic. However, if it were the only option, definitely, I wouldn’t forsake the assembling of brethren. The other two are a Full Gospel church pastored by Leonard Kim and Redeemed Christian Church of God (whose origins are in Nigeria). I decide to attend both on different occasions and let the Lord guide me. Eventually, I become Pastor Leonard’s sheep and enjoy every bit of the fellowship each week until I leave Malaysia for data collection.


Our church is spiritual as well as fun. Our pastor is a very humble, kind, and dedicated minister. He pastors the church in Alor Setah but must drive all the way to Changlun and back to conduct a service for us (students) every Friday evening. He also attends the graduation ceremony for graduating students. Almost all of us volunteer in this or that, and somehow I find myself in the choir (don’t ask me if I sing). Boy! Don’t I look forward to Friday evenings! There are moments when we engage in fun activities such as games, hikes, hill climbing, etc. One time we drive to two neighboring states for missions in children's homes. On the first night, we brace the hard floor of a local church in Penang, but that is incomparable to the fun. During Christmas time, I recall Prince, Julia, and others help us practise Christmas carols to be presented in the Alor Setah church on Christmas Day, followed by a sumptuous meal, a visit to the malls, and the drive back to campus. On another occasion, we practise a play which we perform in church. There are so many other activities we engage in such as celebrating birthdays, individual members’ graduation, etc. Many a time we receive visiting preachers and I am one day delighted to listen to a Singaporean who has lived in Kenya for years.


Let me pen off with Pasar Malam. It is a term unique to Malaysia, Singapore, and Indonesia that literally means ‘night market.’ This is another ‘event’ we look forward to every Wednesday evening. This street market has all that a student needs (food). One person I must appreciate is Soji from Nigeria (as I write this, I am informed he successfully defended his viva voce today-congratulations Dr. Soji Odukoya). He owns a car, so graciously ferries us to and from the Pasar Malam at his cost. There are Malaysian fruits I would die for, and which send me to the market every Wednesday. These include rambutan, langsat, honey apple, and mangosteen. There is the snake fruit (skin resembles that of a snake), but I have no heart to try this one. Talk of psychological issues. For reasons of smell, I don’t like the king fruit of Malaysia, durian. Other delicacies include soft, fresh, yellow corn; fried chicken parts; fresh juice; and so on.



113 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


FootieFacts
FootieFacts
Jul 16, 2021

Community is key.

Like
Anne Anjao
Anne Anjao
Jul 16, 2021
Replying to

Absolutely

Like
bottom of page