top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnne Anjao

Philosophical Assumptions in a Qualitative Study

“Philosophy is at once the most sublime and the most trivial of human pursuits” - William James


Today, I am drawn towards John Creswell. I like his books. The author breaks down complex topics so that they are enjoyable to read. 'Philosophical assumptions' is one such topic.


While developing my proposal, there is so much to read, and I unknowingly skip some vital information. After the proposal defense and draft correction, one of the comments by my supervisor stands out. She asks where my epistemology is. Well, I have not given it much thought, but I promise to look into it before I submit my thesis.


I don't. I forget. And I submit my thesis to my supervisors. Being diligent and caring supervisors, they correct it thoroughly and send it back. But they advise that I should get myself an editor before I submit my next draft. I do. And it is during this session with my editor that the epistemological question comes back to haunt me. He stops the sessions and requests that I add my philosophical assumptions before he can continue. And so, here we are.


I learn never to submit my qualitative thesis if it is devoid of philosophical assumptions. Creswell says that some people can write without mentioning them (implicit), but it is better to state them explicitly. I have included my philosophical worldview, alright. Even though my philosophical assumptions can be discerned throughout my writing, I have not designated a space to link them up with my study. My editor sends me material to read for a thorough understanding of philosophical assumptions. One such material is a book by Creswell, Qualitative Design and Research Inquiry: Choosing among Five Approaches 2nd Edition, 2007. Creswell advises that we consider both worldview and assumption at the proposal development stage.


According to Creswell, every qualitative researcher brings their philosophical assumptions into the study. The researcher might bring in their personal history, views, political issues, and other people's thoughts. Once the researcher becomes aware of these assumptions, s/he must decide where to incorporate them in the study. “Philosophy means the use of abstract ideas and beliefs that inform our research,” says Creswell. He opines that most researchers tend to ignore this critical phase and suggests the following five philosophical assumptions:


The ontological assumption is concerned with the subjective nature of reality and its characteristics. The qualitative study embraces multiple realities where the researcher, those being studied, and readers of the completed research have multiple realities. The researcher investigates and reports on all these realities. I gathered information from seven sets of participants who came from very different settings and backgrounds. Therefore, I presented multiple forms of evidence in the themes by reporting the actual words of the informants, with their diverse perspectives. Thus, my ontological assumptions are the multiple realities divulged by these seven different groups of informants.


The second assumption is epistemological, where the researcher tries to get close to the study participants. Due to proximity, the researcher can collect subjective evidence, which is a good thing because knowledge in qualitative studies is derived from people’s subjective experiences. Epistemological assumptions are summarized simply as the relationship between the researcher and the subject being studied. The researcher collaborates with the participants and becomes an ‘insider.’ S/he spends as much time as possible in the field to understand what the participants are saying. Where the participants live and work forms a good context for basing study findings. In my case, I did spend considerable time in an informal settlement gathering data. For four months, I was a daily visitor, and that is how I minimized distance and objective separateness between myself and my informants (Guba & Lincoln, 1988).


The third assumption is axiological, where the researcher brings values into the study. The researcher actively reports on the values, biases, and value-laden nature of the information gathered from the field. Creswell advises that the researcher positions themselves in the study where their voice and presence are evident. Here, the researcher admits that the report contains their interpretation as well as the study subjects’. This admission can be found at the beginning of chapter five, where I discuss my study findings.


Qualitative methodology is the fourth philosophical assumption. Creswell posits that methodology can be inductive, emerging, and shaped by the inquirer's experience gathering and analyzing data. Unlike the quantitative study that begins entirely from a theory (deductive) handed down, the qualitative researcher starts from the ground up. In qualitative research, one can change research questions and the data gathering process mid-way. The analysis of data is intense as the researcher tries to develop a detailed knowledge of the topic. Indeed, my study is exploratory, where I am trying to build a new model for communicating health issues. Many a time, I have changed my research questions and methods of gathering data.


The fifth philosophical assumption is rhetorical, also known as the language of research. Certain terms about validation of the study are specific to qualitative research, such as credibility, dependability, confirmability, and transferability. Ordinarily, on validation, quantitative researchers use terms such as internal and external validity, generalizability, and objectivity. The qualitative researcher can also use the first pronoun ‘I,’ metaphors, and even write chronologically (in narrative research). Other acceptable qualitative terms include ‘understanding,’ ‘discover,’ and ‘meaning,’ which are essential rhetorical markers when writing the research questions and purpose statement. In my study, I notice my language is personal, literary, and based on definitions that emerged in my research instead of defining anything (Creswell).


In the end, I ask my editor for tips to pass my viva. "Your philosophical assumptions,' he says, "Stand by them, and no one will worry you. After all, it's your study."


You might think getting yourself an editor is quite expensive but, is it?

300 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page