top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnne Anjao

Within the Confines of the Classroom

Knowledge is the new rich. Arm yourself with it - Tony Payne


Today I will be attending my first lecture at 2 pm. I did mention that my degree is through research and not coursework. I also mentioned that before I begin my research, I must attend two non-examinable prerequisite courses, namely, Research Methodology and Academic Writing. Their purpose is to equip the student in the two critical areas of methods and flawless writing. Today's lecture is Research Methodology by a lecturer whose name I cannot pronounce. By now, I have registered for the course on my portal and know the venue, School of Multimedia Technology and Communication (SMMTC), also known as DKG5, if I am going by bus.


I hop onto Bus AB and alight at DKG 5 at 10 minutes to time. It is the first time I am visiting my School. It seems I have forgotten about the issue of getting lost. The building is massive, alright; I do not know where to begin. I walk from left to right, just to encounter a corner and take it. Oh dear, I find myself outside, on the other side of the stage where I alighted. I decide to walk back to the stage and retrace my steps. I give up after 20 minutes of a frantic search and decide to inquire from our School offices. Mercifully, the offices are labeled, so I easily make my way to the first floor, where I find a very helpful lady. She checks the timetable and literally walks me to the designated room.


It is now way past 2.30 pm. My rescuer knocks gently on the door and profusely apologizes on my behalf for being late. I am warmly welcomed into class and join the rest. Wow, I like the environment already. Clean and neat room with almost all the necessary multimedia aids. Yes, there is a desktop computer right on the lecturer’s table, a projector, Wi-Fi, speakers, and others that make learning easier. I wonder how all this equipment is left unmanned in unlocked rooms. I later come to know when I forget my umbrella somewhere, and I appear concerned. My classmate tells me, “Don’t worry, you will find it. No one takes anything here.” Sure enough, I find my umbrella the next day.


So, I survey my environment. We are about ten students. Of course, I am the only one from Africa. By the time the semester ends, we have become such good friends. I instantly connect with Ika, a Malay, and we become very good, intimate friends. We live on the same block, and after class, we always walk back together. Oh, the laughter, the stories, the cooking… Our class is mixed, with PhD and masters’ students. Three of us are undertaking a doctoral degree while the rest are masters’ scholars. I settle down to listen. To be honest, many things are going over my head. I have already told one or two people that I am a lecturer and have taught research methods before. Let us just say I shut up and decide to pursue knowledge vehemently. My handicap is there for all to see. Many times, I cannot answer some questions. To my surprise, the rest of the class seems to know so much, especially quantitative research. I start dreading questions directed at me. So, this is how my students feel, eh!


A Nigerian friend of mine called Mark later utters these words I cannot forget, "Sister oh, you better know your methods oh. I tell you these people (referring to university supervisors) oh. They may not be excellent in language oh, but research, oh…" One of the things I have clearly understood is that there are three approaches to research: quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods. Everywhere you turn to chat with fellow students, the question is, “Are you quali or quanti?” It has become a part of the university’s intimate banter. Knowing my limitations, I decide to listen more and observe and only speak when prompted. I also later learn that masters’ students take three research methodology courses! No wonder they are so adept and so grounded in it! Today they are attending a mixed-methods class. They tell me they had qualitative research this morning, and tomorrow, they will be back for quantitative research. Research. Research. Research. Everywhere. Now I understand what Mark meant.


It also comes to my knowledge that lecturers too specialize. Those who are qualitative researchers stick to their lanes. So are the quantitative and mixed methods lecturers. This is one thing I wish we could adapt back at home. It would solve so many of the research issues we have.


I learn many things I do not know. The lecturer asks if we know this and that website, how to access certain material etc., and of course, I do not. So, I wait for a classmate to respond and note down the website or source of information and later check it out. I do not know many basic things, such as conducting an advanced search for materials. They even know which books say what! Today, I get to know how to locate a journal article that seems difficult to find without involving the library staff. I know how to establish the legitimacy of a journal and many, many, other things.


Oh, and the passion in my lecturer’s voice and demeanor is a lesson for me too. Countless times he asks whether I have understood. I feel like telling him not to worry too much for now. I will pick up. Knowing my severe limitations, I have today purposed to sink myself deeper into the library. I must find this Creswell. I must find this Hair. I must find Strauss & Corbin. No way I am coming back to class blank.

106 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Anagram Kenya
Anagram Kenya
Apr 30, 2021

I read this article thinking about Prof. Dr. Dr. Moni Wekesa and thought I ask, what is the tradition in Malaysia in as far as attaching academic titles to one's name is concerned?

Like
Anne Anjao
Anne Anjao
May 29, 2021
Replying to

Sorry for late reply. It's the same tradition.

Like
bottom of page